GLHP "Ghent Lambing & Husbandry Project"

NOTE THAT THE APPLICATION RUNS FROM JULY TILL SEPTEMBER TO CONTACTUS. AFTER THAT YOU CAN FINETUNE YOUR MOST BUSY WEEKS OF LAMBING OR OTHER.

   o  ENGLAND/WALES END OF OCTOBER

   o  SCOTLAND/IRELAND MID-NOVEMBER

   o  ICELAND END OF NOVEMBER

   o  NETHERLANDS/BELGIUM/FRANCE END OF OCTOBER

Vision & goals

The Ghent Lambing & Husbandry project (GLHP) is a project that started two years ago, after a rather small post on Facebook, requesting a few students to assist lambing in Orkney. So many student applied that we decided to look for more placements where we could send our students to get that hands on experience. What started with this one post, turned into a 95 student operation (2018). Both the interest from farmers as well as from the students grew so much, that we were able to triple the number of students this past year (2019). Today we are a team of thirteen very enthousiastic veterinary students. We provide lambing and husbandry placement in mostly the UK, but also the Netherlands, Belgium, Iceland and France. We as veterinary students at Ghent University want to make it a possibility for our fellow students to get some hands on experience. The objective of our student society is to contribute not only to a practical, educational development, but also to provide an international platform to our fellow students. This with the help of VDK and in cooperation of other running internationalisation organisations, like IVSA. 

As students from UGent we would like to expand the practical experience we get. Our main goal is to build a bridge between our studies as veterinary students and the realities in our future. We want to prepare ourselves and skills learned and developed by working in the farm environment can only add value to the knowledge we have accumulated in our studies. Therefore, we created this Project to connect students from our university to farms. 

Last year (2019), we were able to send approximately 270 students to 53 farms spread over the UK. As of this year (2020), we would like to provide placement for even more students and add Husbandry to our resume. With your help we would like to make this possible! Below you’ll find our email-address, facebook page and application form for farmers. Whether you are a small farm or large, a dairy farm or beef, you’ve got pigs, horses or a mixture of all these: please don’t hesitate to apply. Also know that we want to make it a wonderful experience for you too!

Not to worry, we make sure our students get information and practice a bit of skill at our Uni before we send them off. There is however a difference between students: second years do have less experience with lambing, but for them we want to make it a possibility to fly over and help out too. There is a question in the application let us know your preference. There’s also an application for our students to fill in. When they close, we try to find the best fit for the both of you. 

Contact

President                                                                          Ann van Eetvelt

Vice-president/VDK-liaison/Public Relations/Treasurer   Dominique Croockewit

Secretary/student communication                                   Dagmar Vannieuwenhuyse

Webmaster/Media                                                           Gwendoline Moyaert

DSR/externship committee                                             Sophie Smit

Communication Faculty                                                 Joyce Schumans

IVSA liaison                                                                    Robin Botermans

Region Belgium & Netherlands                                      Karlijn van Malder

Region Scotland                                                            Daphné Blockx

Region Wales & PR-intern                                            Maria Cherepanova

Region England                                                            Yanina Verplanke

Region Ireland, Orkney & Iceland                                 Alexander Taffeiren

Region Orkney & France                                              Céline Decoster

 

Email address: ghentlambingproject@gmail.com

Farmers

As explained above, we as the GLHP want to provide our students with placement at farm to get experience in the field. But we’d also like to provide an extra pair of hands for you. We’re looking for farmers/veterinarians/shelters/stables who love their work and want to share their passion and knowledge. We want our students to learn as much as possible, from feeding sheep/looking after petlambs/taking care of pups/foals/calfs to help with difficult lambings and (know when to) intervene when necessary. Please read the forms below. In there, you’ll find information about how an exchange ‘works’ and what to expect from us and we from you. 


Note: application for 2019-2020 to contactus, runs from July till September. After that we might not be able to select the right student or one at all. We can however add you to the list for the year thereafter (2021). 










Students 

Fellow students, when you’re interested in lambing/husbandry and aren’t afraid to get dirty, roll up your sleeves and work very hard, late and/or early hours, but get a bulk load of experience? We’re the ones you need to contact! We try to provide the best fit for you to improve your knowledge and skills. We want to make it easier for you to step out of your comfort zone, to apply and find the experience you’re looking for. Building a bridge between our theoretical classes and your future job.

Below you’ll find an application form soon. Read carefully and answer truthfully. We want to be able to give you the experience you’re looking for. 

  • Application form lambing (available soon)
  • Application form husbandry (available soon)

Note: the deadline for application is September. Please know that when you apply thereafter we might not be able to schedule you in. There is no list in this case. You’ve to apply each year via the application form. 

Previous exchanges

“Once again I just want to thank you so much for all you’ve done for us here. You really brightened the place up!”

“Extremely lucky having these two ladies with us the past week. Their care and attention to our animals has been second to none.”

GLHP "Ghent Lambing & Husbandry Project"

NOTEZ QUE VOTRE CANDIDATURE DOIT NOUS PARVENIR ENTRE LES MOIS DE JUILLET ET DE SEPTEMBRE. VOUS POUVEZ ENSUITE AFFINER LA PERIODE EN NOUS COMMUNIQUANT LES SEMAINES LES PLUS CHARGEES DE MISES BAS (AGNELAGE OU AUTRES).

   o  ANGLETERRE/PAYS DE GALLES: FIN OCTOBRE

   o  ECOSSE/IRLANDE: MI-NOVEMBRE

   o  ISLANDE: FIN NOVEMBRE

   o  PAYS-BAS/BELGIQUE/FRANCE: FIN OCTOBRE

Vision & Objectifs

Le Ghent Lambing & Husbandry project (GLHP) est un projet qui a démarré il y a deux ans, après la publication d’un petit post sur Facebook, demandant à quelques étudiants d’aider durant la période d’agnelage à Orkney.  Les inscriptions d’étudiants furent tellement nombreuses que nous avons décidé de rechercher d’autres lieux pour permettre à nos étudiants de bénéficier de cette expérience.  Ce qui avait démarré avec un seul post s’est transformé en une activité comptant 95 étudiants (2018). L’intérêt tant des fermiers que celui des étudiants a grandi de telle sorte que l’année écoulée (2019) nous avons triplé la participation estudiantine.  Aujourd’hui nous sommes une équipe de treize étudiants vétérinaires enthousiastes. Nous proposons des stages sur des sites d’élevage et d’agnelage dans quasi tout le Royaume-Uni mais aussi aux Pays-Bas, en Belgique, en Islande et en France. En tant qu’étudiants vétérinaires à l’Université de Gand, nous souhaitons que tous nos collègues étudiants puissent avoir la possibilité de participer à ce type d’expérience.  L’objectif de notre association d’étudiants est de contribuer non seulement au développement pratique et pédagogique mais également d’offrir une plateforme internationale à nos collègues étudiants. Ceci en collaboration avec le VDK (Vlaamse Diergeneeskundige Kring) et en coopération avec d’autres organisations tournées vers l’international, comme l’IVSA (International Veterinary Students’ Association). 

En tant qu’étudiants de l’UGent nous voudrions développer  l’expérience pratique que  nous avons acquise. Notre but principal est de construire une passerelle entre nos études de vétérinaire et la réalité à laquelle nous serons confrontés dans le futur.  Nous voulons nous préparer au mieux et les compétences que nous avons acquises et développées lors de nos activités dans le milieu agricole ne peuvent qu’ajouter  de la valeur aux connaissances que nous avons accumulées lors de nos études. C’est la raison pour laquelle nous avons mis sur pied ce Projet, afin de créer un lien entre l’université et les exploitations agricoles. 

L’an dernier (2019), nous avons pu envoyer près de 270 étudiants dans 53 exploitations agricoles réparties sur tout le Royaume-Uni. Cette année  (2020),  nous voudrions trouver des stages pour encore plus d’étudiants et nous aimerions ajouter le bétail à notre liste. Avec votre soutien, nous aimerions réaliser ce souhait! Ci-dessous vous trouverez notre lien facebook ainsi qu’un formulaire de candidature pour tout exploitant agricole intéressé. Que vous soyez une petite ou une grande exploitation, une exploitation laitière ou une ferme bovine, que vous ayez des porcs, des chevaux ou une combinaison de ceux-ci, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter et à introduire votre candidature. Sachez également que nous souhaitons que cette expérience soit également formidable pour vous !

Ne vous inquiétez pas, nous nous assurons que nos étudiants soient suffisamment informés et qu’ils   disposent d’un minimum de compétences acquises à l’Université avant qu’ils n’arrivent chez vous. Toutefois, il existe des différences entre les étudiants : les étudiants de seconde année ont moins d’expérience avec la mise bas mais nous voulons leur offrir la possibilité de voyager et de donner un coup de main. Une question a trait à cet aspect dans le formulaire de candidature, faites nous connaître votre préférence. Nos étudiants doivent également compléter un questionnaire d’inscription.  Au final, nous essayons de trouver  une solution optimale pour les deux parties.

Contact

President                                                                          Ann van Eetvelt

Vice-president/VDK-liaison/Public Relations/Treasurer   Dominique Croockewit

Secretary/student communication                                   Dagmar Vannieuwenhuyse

Webmaster/Media                                                           Gwendoline Moyaert

DSR/externship committee                                             Sophie Smit

Communication Faculty                                                 Joyce Schumans

IVSA liaison                                                                    Robin Botermans

Region Belgium & Netherlands                                      Karlijn van Malder

Region Scotland                                                            Daphné Blockx

Region Wales & PR-intern                                            Maria Cherepanova

Region England                                                            Yanina Verplanke

Region Ireland, Orkney & Iceland                                 Alexander Taffeiren

Region Orkney & France                                              Céline Decoster

 

Email address: ghentlambingproject@gmail.com

Fermiers

Comme expliqué précédemment, notre association, le GLHP, souhaite trouver un stage dans une ferme afin que nos étudiants puissent acquérir de l’expérience dans ce secteur. Mais nous souhaitons également vous offrir une paire de bras supplémentaires. Nous recherchons des exploitants agricoles/vétérinaires/des responsables de refuges/des écuries qui sont passionnés par leur travail et qui sont prêts à partager leur passion et leurs connaissances. Nous voulons que nos étudiants puissent élargir un maximum leurs compétences et  ceci va de l’alimentation des moutons à la surveillance des agneaux, des soins procurés aux chiots/poulains/veaux jusqu’à l’intervention lors de mises bas difficiles et du fait de pouvoir juger si une intervention est vraiment requise. Lisez les fiches ci-dessous. Vous y trouverez toute l’information relative à la manière dont un échange se déroule et ce que vous pouvez attendre de notre part et nous de votre part. 



Remarque:  le formulaire de contact pour 2019-2020 doit nous parvenir entre les mois de juillet et de septembre. Après cette période, nous risquons de ne pas pouvoir sélectionner l’étudiant demandé ou de vous trouver un étudiant. Nous pouvons néanmoins vous ajouter à la liste pour l’année suivante (2021).




Etudiants 

Chers étudiants, vous êtes intéressés par l’agnelage et vous n’avez pas peur de vous salir, de relever vos manches et de travailler dur, tard et/ou aux petites heures, tout en accumulant de l’expérience, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter! Nous essayons de trouver la combinaison optimale pour que vous puissiez élargir vos connaissances et vos compétences. Nous vous aidons à sortir de votre zone de confort, à poser votre candidature et à trouver l’expérience que vous cherchez. Créez une passerelle entre les cours théoriques et votre futur job.  

Ci-dessous vous trouverez un formulaire d’inscription. Lisez-le soigneusement et répondez de manière honnête. Nous souhaitons vraiment vous offrir l’expérience que vous recherchez.  

  • Formulaire d’inscription lambing (agnelage) (bientôt disponible)
  • Formulaire d’inscription élevage (husbandry) (bientôt disponible)

Remarque: la date limite pour votre candidature est le mois de septembre. Si vous vous inscrivez après, nous risquons de ne plus avoir de place disponible pour vous. Aucune liste de réserve n’est maintenue. Chaque année, vous devrez introduire un nouveau formulaire. 

Exchanges antérieurs

“Once again I just want to thank you so much for all you’ve done for us here. You really brightened the place up!”

“Extremely lucky having these two ladies with us the past week. Their care and attention to our animals has been second to none.”